Governor to Elect Terry McAuliffe to Speak at Chamberís Annual Meeting of the Membership December 11

Governor to Elect Terry McAuliffe to Speak at Chamberís Annual Meeting of the Membership December 11

The Annual Meeting of the Membership is the Chamber's premier annual event.  Join the Chamber on Wednesday, December 11 from noon-2pm at The Founders Inn & Spa for Hampton Roads' largest gathering of business leaders and elected officials.  The event’s keynote speaker is Governor-elect Terry McAuliffe.  The Chamber will introduce its new President & CEO, Bryan Stephens, as well as recognize outgoing and incoming volunteer leadership.  Remarks will also be provided by Vice Admiral Nora W. Tyson, Deputy Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces Command.  The USO of Hampton Roads and Central Virginia is inviting the guests from Virginia's Wounded Warriors program to attend. The Chamber will honor a Volunteer of the Year, as well as award five Division Leadership Awards and the 2013 Marian P. Whitehurst Women in Leadership Award.

Governor-elect Terry McAuliffe will provide keynote addressA Division Leadership Award will be presented to an individual in each of the five Southside cities, to recognize his/her volunteer service and commitment to the community. The main purpose of this award is to recognize and honor a volunteer who sets a standard for making service a central part of their lives for the betterment of individuals and the community. The following individuals will be honored:

Hampton Roads Chamber Chesapeake Division Leadership Award
Shirley Forbes
Owner, Virginia Consultants, LLC

Hampton Roads Chamber Norfolk Division Leadership Award

Dawna L. Ellis
Chief Financial Officer, Harvey Linsday Commercial Real Estate

Hampton Roads Chamber Portsmouth Division Leadership Award
Raymond Joseph

Hampton Roads Chamber Suffolk Division Leadership Award
Betsy Bagnell Totten
Vice President, TowneBank Greenbrier

Hampton Roads Chamber Virginia Beach Division Leadership Award
Mary C. Russo
Director (Volunteer), Office of Volunteer Resources, City of Virginia Beach

The 2013 Marian P. Whitehurst Women in Leadership Award, created in 2009, is presented each year to a woman who exemplifies professional excellence, community service, and assistance to women in their professional development and leadership. The 2013 recipient is Dr. Nancy Welch, Director, Chesapeake Health Department, Director and Acting Director, Western Tidewater Health Department.  Dr. Nancy Welch has served as a public health director in Virginia since 1976.  She participates in many community and volunteer organizations such as Chesapeake Mayor’s Task Force on Poverty, Tidewater Medical Women’s Association, ODU College of Health Sciences, Smart Beginnings, and was a founding member of the Comprehensive Health Investment Project (CHIP).  Dr. Welch has dedicated her entire career to the health and well-being of others, not just in the region, but around the world.


Learn more about the Annual Meeting and register.

Latest News
October 15, 2019 - Hampton Roads Economic Development Alliance
October 14, 2019 - Emily Cass
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon